U3 and the Levant

YDNA:
yes
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:11 pm
Hello!
1. Can you explain how can we dissociate a U3 frm Levant and 1 frm Eastern Europe, & 1 frm East Asia?
2. Is there a subclade specific or prominent to Levantines (Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine)?
3. How frequent it appears among Levantines?
4. Can we say it penetrated Levant frm Caucasus?
5. Where do you locate most likely home of U3?
6. Is it frequent among Turkic and Tartars people?
7. How abt frequency in Iraq & Iran?
My son was tested U3 and his mother is Lebanese probably northern Syrian origin, while my mt is T1 & YDNA is E1b1b1. abu khalil, Palestine.
YDNA:
I1d1 (I-M253)
MtDNA:
U5b2b3a
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 6:59 am
I am not an expert by any means, but here are some links that will help you get some answers:

http://www.phylotree.org/tree/subtree_U.htm
The Phylotree for U will show which mutations are typical for U3 placement.

http://www.eupedia.com/europe/european_ ... ency.shtml
This link covers all the European mtDNA haplogroups, but I saw U3 listed, so you can take a look at the distribution for U3 in Europe.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haplogroup ... logroup_U3
Here's some info on U3 from Wikipedia.

http://www.familytreedna.com/public/mtDNAU3/
This is a great site, and there is some info here that you might find useful.

http://italydna.blogspot.com/2007/03/mt ... up-u3.html
Link to a blog/project for a U3 mtDNA project.

Answers to your questions:
1. Not sure of your question here. mtDNA is mtDNA, and place of origin is not information that this type of DNA would yield. Even autosomal DNA mght yield percentages of population, but not a geographical origin or specific geographical location. Remember we are talking about several thousand years. I am assuming, based on what I read, that U3 came around some 20,000 years ago. In 20,000 years, people move a lot!